Blue Shirt Day takes on unkind behaviors

dsc_0007

Madeline Burke (12)

Q: In your opinion, what’s Blue Shirt Day about?

A: [I think Blue Shirt Day is about] putting an end to bullying and raising awareness of bullying at school.

Q: Do you think Blue Shirt Day is effective in its efforts?

A: I think it helps get the word out, but it doesn’t do anything to prevent [bullying.]

Q: Is there anything you do to prevent unkind behaviors or advocate against it?

A: I don’t think there’s a lot of bullying [in our school], except maybe girls talking behind each others’ backs.  I try to stay away from it, or change the subject. If I saw a physical fight, I would try to stop it.

 

dsc_0010

Charlie Mullen (11)

Q: In your opinion, what’s Blue Shirt Day about?

A: It is an awareness day to recognize what bullying does to people.

Q: Do you think Blue Shirt Day is effective in its efforts?

A: For me, it helps. It reminds me of what I need to know about bullying.

Q: Is there anything you do to prevent unkind behaviors or advocate against it?

A: I have had family members who experienced bullying and I had to help them stand up for themselves. If I see someone getting bullied, I try to find an adult or I try to diffuse the situation.

 

dsc_0013

Natalie Gut (10)

Q: In your opinion, what’s Blue Shirt Day about?

A: It is used to show people that everyone is against bullying and we can stand together to stop bullying. If we can get everyone to wear a blue shirt, why can’t we get everyone to stop bullying?

Q: Do you think Blue Shirt Day is effective in its efforts?

A: I think it is. The notes on the lockers especially make an impact, maybe not on a person’s life, but on a person’s day. That little boost of confidence can effect how they see the world.

Q: Is there anything you do to prevent unkind behaviors or advocate against it?

A: Usually, you don’t walk down the hallway and see someone get beaten up, but if someone says something rude I try to step in. I try to be nice to people; it’s hard sometimes, but I try my best.

 

dsc_0014

Sydney Hardern (9)

Q: In your opinion, what’s Blue Shirt Day about?

A: It is about everyone in a community coming together to say, “We won’t engage in bullying.”

Q: Do you think Blue Shirt Day is effective in its efforts?

A:  I feel like it gets the message across, but is doesn’t have a lot of depth. Why blue?

Q: Is there anything you do to prevent unkind behaviors or advocate against it?

A: [I do not do anything concerning] bullying as much, but when I hear my friends gossiping I try to stop it.

 

By: Mira Sidhu

sidhu.mira@oakwoodschools.org

Leave a Reply

  • Note:

    The Dome is not responsible for the content of externally linked sites
