Preparing for the PSAT

The Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test, or PSAT, will be held tomorrow, Oct. 19.

Caden Sanford (11)

Caden Sanford (11)

Q: Why are you taking the PSAT
A: [I’m taking the PSAT] because it gives you a little taste of what you have to do for the SAT, so you know what to expect.
Q: Do you think the PSAT prepares you for the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)?
A: Yes, it’s like an SAT that practice.
Q: What do you do to prepare for the PSAT?
A: Nothing as of now. I think it’s okay to not prepare, its a personal choice like how you want to good on it. Practicing is always a good idea, I’m going to do stuff online, I bought this whole video and practice test package.
Q: Do you think the PSAT does an acceptable job at representing students academic abilities?
A: I think some people are good test takes and they do well on things like that, but others are not. It doesn’t totally say what kind of student you are by circling answers.

Katherine Boylin (10)

Katherine Boylin (10)

Q: Why are you taking the PSAT?
A: It’s good practice for what you are going to see when you take the SAT when you’re further along in your high school experience, and I’ll probably take it again.
Q: Do you think the PSAT prepares you for the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)?
A: I think it gives you a good perspective as to what the questions are going to be. Obviously the questions are going to be a little bit different, but it gives you basis of what you need to practice and what you have a good handle on.
Q: What do you do to prepare for the PSAT?
A: [I] review over different subjects. The English teachers passed out a packet that told us some of the questions we might be seeing and gave us some practice problems, so I’ve gone over those so I know what to expect.
Q: Do you think the PSAT does an acceptable job at representing students academic abilities?
A: I think it depends. My personal view is that no one test could focus and be able to say what someone’s academic ability is. [Academic ability] is more of an accumulation of different subjects over different years not just one amount of time.

 

 

Leo Deer (11)

Leo Deer (11)

Q: Why are you taking the PSAT?
A: I’m taking the PSAT because I know there can be some scholarship opportunities with it. I know I’m not going to get National Merit Scholarship but I think it’s a good way I could get some possible scholarships and it’s good practice for the SAT.
Q: Do you think the PSAT prepares you for the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)?
A: No, because [the PSAT happens] one year before [the SAT] and you don’t really get good practice but I took the PSAT prep class and that’s what helped me the most for the SAT.
Q: What do you do to prepare for the PSAT?
A: I took the PSAT prep class, and also [the instructors of the class] gave me the book, and it has a lot of practice test in it so I went through those.
Q: Do you think the PSAT does an acceptable job at representing students academic abilities?
A: Not at all. Many studies have shown that a student that does well on standardized tests such as the SAT or ACT with a low GPA do not succeed well in college. However, those who do slightly poorly on the SAT or ACT but have a strong GPA do well in college because, while it’s important to have school smarts it’s much more important to have a good drive. If you’re just smart but you’re not willing to put in the work, you can’t succeed in college. College is hard and some stuff comes easy to kids, but when you get to college level you really have to put in work to succeed.

Gabby Schalm (10)

Gabby Schalm (10)

Q: Why are you taking the PSAT?
A: [I’m taking it] to prep for the SAT just so I can get an idea of what’s on the SAT.
Q: Do you think the PSAT prepares you for the Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)?
A: Well, it’s the practice SAT so I would assume that it does prepare you for the actual SAT, at least somewhat. I think it’s good to take standardized tests that are similar to other ones you’re going to take to get a feel for the test and get a feel of what’s going to be on it.
Q: What do you do to prepare for the PSAT?
A: Depending on what test I’m taking I will look over notes and things like that, just try to get a good night’s sleep, eat a healthy breakfast, bring water, and things like that.
Q: Do you think the PSAT does an acceptable job at representing students academic abilities?
A: I think it depends on the test, a lot of tests students get stressed out over and they perform a lot less and they don’t do as well on them as they could because they get stressed out and they think, “Oh this will define me as a student.” I don’t think it does a very good job at [representing students academic abilities] but I can’t think of another way to measure it.

Leave a Reply

  • Note:

    The Dome is not responsible for the content of externally linked sites
