Zero Dark Thirty not worth the hype

The movie didn't meet the expectations I had going in. With the death of Osama Bin Laden, I was expecting two hours of the invasion of his mansion and the eradication.

The movie didn’t meet the expectations I had going in. With the death of Osama Bin Laden, I was expecting two hours of the invasion of his mansion and the eradication.

With all the hype surrounding “the real” story and that everyone has to see it, I gave in. I went to see, “Zero Dark Thirty,” in theaters.

The movie is about the Navy Seal team 6 that went into Osama Bin Laden’s mansion and eradicated him. There was a ton of preparation that went into the invasion, but no room for failure.

The movie was great after the hour of boring introductory time-fillers. The movie’s plot only had one part and that was the climax. There wasn’t any action building up to the invasion, it was just boring interaction and plotting of the death of Bin Laden.

Once the date of invasion came in the movie, it really started to pick up. Watching everything that had to go right for it to be successful was incredible.

There were so many thing that could have gone wrong, but didn’t. For instance, all the people could have waken up and stopped the invasion from happening. If the president said no to the invasion, then we would still be under fear.

The problem when I went to see it was that I went in under the wrong mindset. I went in thinking I was going to go in and get 2 hours of an action-packed invasion. Instead I learned about everything leading up to the attack and the actual invasion.

If one is going to watch the movie for an education on the eradication of Osama Bin Laden, then I would highly recommend the film, but if one is going for action, then I would recommend a documentary about it.

By Grady Fultz

fultz.grady@oakwoodschools.org

 

Leave a Reply

  • Note:

    The Dome is not responsible for the content of externally linked sites
